Yesterday's Girl

in #poetry6 years ago

tumblr_p8eu5sfFka1rgrfxso7_1280.jpg

Plans for the future crumble and fall away 

as you say that you wish to leave me in your past, 

as though I’m just something born to be forgotten and replaced. 


And who’s to say I’m not? 


You weren’t the first to enter my life 

and give me love and friendship, 

only to throw your hands up in exasperation and exhaustion 

after I had spent months and years of pushing you away. 


You were one of many to grow tired of my toxic ways 

and you were one of many to move on to something 

or someone more stable, more reliable, 

“more” in every decent sense of the word. 


The only difference was that with you, 

I never thought you would leave. 


Oh, how wrong I was. 


But I cannot blame you, 

nor can I hold it against you. 

Nor do I hold any rage towards you anymore 

– only sorrow. 


Sorrow for a lost love, a lost friendship, 

a lost boy and a lost girl 

– all doomed to be buried 

in boxes and closets of the past, 

never to be seen or heard from again.

Sort:  

Excellent article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33