And If You're Truly Mine

in #poetry6 years ago

tumblr_p80jxhNHSq1xrbmsdo1_1280.png

I guess I owe you some space, some time far, far away. 

Far away from…me. 


After all, your kind is not meant to be couped up 

behind doors and dimly lit walls, 

beside frail and fragile girls with eyes 

as insecure and frightened as glass does ready to flee…

or shatter, at the slightest touch. 


I won’t beg you to stay any longer, 

I won’t expel or waste any more breath in hopes that you 

or I will magically change our ways to better suit the other, 

to better fit the other’s needs. 


I’ve learned that you cannot 

make someone love you if they don’t. 

You cannot make someone remain with you, 

if it isn’t where they wish to be. 


So I will not attempt any longer, 

to force you into loving a broken thing. 

I will no longer attempt to force you 

to remain in the cold, 

in this broken place. 


You are free to roam. 

And if you’re truly mine, 

you will forever be mine, 

no matter who you meet, 

no matter where you go, 

despite the distance 

or the length of time apart.

Sort:  

Great poetry, are you an artist??

Thank you! And I do enjoy creating art pieces in the forms of poems and drawings

I like poem and drawing also. Now I am holding a poem contest on my blog. But just in local language

Loading...

Letting go is an acquired taste. I really enjoyed reading your poem. It exudes love and sadness.

I'm so happy you enjoyed it, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33