castigatores

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)


it's not that
i don't want to yet - something is requiring
a silence
as if my mind were in a library forbidden to speak
my eyes cast in stone

at night i whisper -
trace furtive stains hidden on walls when no one is looking

cottonwood
malachite
zanzibar

as if praising things by name
calling
brothers or kin
singing contours and lines into being
with the sound of my voice
desire
swaying elements into purpose

and sadness echoes in the hollow
knowing i remember
snow
and saltpeter
the sound of rain in solitude
campfires in august
the shape of your trust

when time was a grain of wood
forming from a seed

when cold was lava rock
cooling in the mist

when man was a quivering child
his grace embedded in a lie

your memories clung to me
joyful
exhuberant
unleashed

like so many oceans caressing my face
of leaves in a wind
a time of growing
when laughter and loving came before wanting

wanting instead of waiting
another life when i wasn't
who i am

Sort:  

thank you for reminding me of who i am.

hugs and cuddles

My favorite lines:
and sadness echoes in the hollow
knowing i remember
snow
and saltpeter

this poem is actually a visual i see in my mind when i read it. a dark haunted mansion with worlds spinning inside it, and a woman alone, frozen in time, wondering the hallways. i am honored that you find it as beautiful as i do.

Brilliant writing!
My favorite line, "the shape of your trust", not something I would have thought of.

thanks:) so happy so many people like this!

my favorite would be "wanting instead of waiting when i wasnt who i am" such deep and beautiful lines !!

ty for that :)

This post received a 20% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56