Poetry Slam Challenge #2: (A degree of freedom)

in #poetry8 years ago

A degree of freedom
dissolving what we are
and nothing has crystallized
soft, fluent and nothing to hold on to
meta and rigid in my thoughts

Freedom for now
as it is, as we are
and nothing to intervene
you, me, and all our expectations
meta and capturing my thoughts

Can we free us from the need of freedom
can we be who we are
and nothing more than that
Sartre will disagree
meta and doomed to be free

Sort:  

Edit: Picture is my own original, #nofilter :-)

Sartre was a big influence on my writing. The moment I read the line "hell is other people," I felt he understood something important and promptly devoured whatever I could find.

I only bring it up because we usually think of freedom as having it from other people who would take it away, so it's a person-centric idea at the root. This poem made me wonder if Sartre ever considered that freedom was the release from hell, or from the hell he saw as other people.

Thanks for making me think that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45