...there's nothing like darkness [an original poem]

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

there's nothing like darkness
it sucks me in and forces me to write
there's nothing like inertness
it's inspiration's despite

I can take a drink and a dive
get lost, grapple and thrive
I can wring a thousand words from your silence
plus melancholy and resignation from my own violence
I can contemplate the last ten years
and count the anxiety attacks I exchanged for my rational fears
I can give up reading yet another book about the now,
put down my mindfulness, because, hey, somehow

there's nothing like darkness
it's just absence of of light
there's nothing like peace
it's just the absence of fright

I should just get better at nursing the hipster in me
roll with the caffeine in my fair trade green tea
I could pick up more organic fast food
and throw it in a dumpster for someone to loot
I should get my visa and suspend some art in my kitchen
drink a bit more tea while the critiques are bitchin'
I could write an article about the abuse of ADHD drugs
and do nothing about that the doctors give no fucks

there's nothing like darkness
it's just absence of of enlightenment
there's nothing like peace
it's just the absence of perceived torment

I can take a stance on paternal rights on abortion
that won't keep me from extortion
And I can bring relief aid after the latest man-made flood
while still buying another phone filled with fresh blood
I can sit and vote with a thousand likes
of which not a single one will stop my government's airstrikes
I can stop at the street and talk to Mr. Hangaround
and let you know what I found

yeah, he said:
there's nothing like darkness
it's just absence of of light
there's nothing like peace
it's just the absence of might

I can earn a living from designing explosives,
corrosives and my own psychosis
I can work my ass of you and you and you
but in the end you're too few
I can gather for a speakers corner up here later
but noone's gonna go 'cause there is no cater
I can cry my eyes out the coming nights
but stunning cynicism is my break lights

there's nothing like darkness
to make me glow harder
there's nothing like peace
to make me suspect more disorder

nineteen eighty four is blinking like a neon tube
but when the power's up there's nothing to recoup
we're selling out truth and get paid in lies,
history reprise and more enterdrainment from the television guys
nine-eleven was the cornerstone of lost integrity
supporting only power craving ecstasy
oh no, we don't need no more ambiguous over-fights
we just gotta step up to some human rights

fuck, there's such a vast darkness
and its freaking the state of the art
fuck, these roadmaps to peace
the first thing we need is a heart

the most egoistic wish for happiness and joy
is found in the most altruistic alloy:
meaningful work done for another being
dancing, writing, sharing and freeing
telling a new story, yelling out an old trauma
being resistant and strong with this world's flora and fauna
please, join me in love and kindness
you'll be paid in vital light and essential darkness

Sort:  

"fuck, these roadmaps to peace
the first thing we need is a heart"

Amen.

Beautiful poem! The flow was superb with a great selection for word choice. Imagery was a little sparse but the idea of darkness may have suppressed a lot of the imagery for myself, which is not necessarily a bad thing since it was the tone of the poem. I really enjoyed your writing. The topic was well covered and well delivered.

The last verse was my favorite. I love that you share the balance of light and dark as necessary.

Thank you for taking the time to share this with our community. :)

Beautiful

Excellent, up voted and followed with my @chaospoet account. I also sent a small (didn't have much) promotion for this post via the promote button from my @chaospoet account.

This is truly an inspired piece you wrote.

I spread the word about this poem in as many places as I had contact. Some of them have already visited you. If you continue to write pieces this deep and well thought out you won't remain in obscurity for long.

Yes, this skill is way beyond that I have in the area when I write as @chaospoet. Everything I write in that account I do very quickly mainly for the challenge, and the journey of where writing a piece really fast might take me.

I bow to this piece though it is truly good. Keep it up.

Uprooted for the great ideas but you could try harder with the construction of the piece.
"and do nothing about that the doctors give no fucks"
That line was really bad, it needed redrafting. For example: "and do nothing like doctors who don't give a fuck."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46