Because I am SHE

in #poetry7 years ago

Screenshot_2017-08-24-02-39-44.png

He raped me
But I get the blame
He assaulted me
Yet they say I talked back to him
He harassed me
And the conclusion is that my skirt was short
The hopeless cycles
The slut shaming
All because I am a woman

Mother says my husband is god
Father says he should have all my earnings
Society says my children must bear his name
Pastor says I must always submit to him
My boss sends me home on time so I cook for him
My career is meaningless
My feelings do not matter
I have a duty to that man that is god
All because I am a woman

Don't tell me its custom!
Don't tell me about society!
Don't tell me its how it is!
I am a human being
And I matter!
I do not have to sacrifice my life
On the altar of marriage
My dreams do not have to die
Slavery need not be my new reality
All because I am a woman

So I will speak
And I will stand on my rights
I will have my freedom
I will not be quiet in the face of oppression
I would not let anyone make me cower!
All because I am a woman

**Poetry written by me ...

Image Source: https://www.instagram.com/louijover/

Sort:  

Keep dare slap him punish why u scary

Very powerful and provocative. Keep it up.

Thank youuuu

I really enjoyed reading this. I feel so empowered lol. This poem is really well written and it is so relevant.
Keep on lifting your voice and making your opinions heard.
Just one correction though, it should be "it's" not "its".
But job well done.

Looool....I get it and I am extremely grateful for your comment

I hope you love chimamanda? Cos dt makes us friends automatically

Oh Bless your sweet heart! I so do and I am glad to meet someone who doesn't think she is misleading Africa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55