Tuesday Night Folly

in #poetry7 years ago

To slip into darkness I struggle in vain
Stress of the day plies and batters my brain

I call to thee now, sweet giver of dreams
Ferry me across your ethereal stream

Gently you coax me, my eyelids now drawn
Appeasing my nerves, trepidation has flown

Crossing the threshold 'twixt your world and mine
I reach for your hand as two souls intertwine

Tonight let us bypass all worries and fears
Ensure I wake not with a heart full of tears

This eve let us journey to magical realms
I lend you my trust as you're seizing the helm

On strong gilded wings, carry me to wonder
Skipping through clouds, first over now under

Fueled by laughter we spiral and dive
Tickling each treetop entranced and alive

Sea warmed breezes caressing my nose
Beach made of fairy dust just beneath my toes

Chattering monkeys and gossiping birds
Serenade as we pass with cryptic words

O'er cobblestone streets and green-gabled homes
Then a quick stop to greet the resident gnomes

You masterfully navigate with awe and surprise
I succumb to each folly of your sparkling eyes

Through fields of rye where grasshoppers dance
On snow capped hills we frolic and prance

Deep into the forest on moss covered stones
We follow a path where the elven ones roam

Our excursion soon quickens, the night now waning
Break through the fog where it's dreary and raining

You bid me "Adieu" while suppressing a grin
Perhaps on the morrow we'll take leave again

My breathing is quieted, unconscious, aloof
Melodic blue raindrops tap-tap on my roof

Slowly awaken, recollections of want
Of my dark-haired docent and our midnight jaunt

Copyright 2014, Tina Jordan All Rights Reserved

~ On rare occasions, I rhyme ~

bed-2883675_1280.jpg
Image via Pixabay

Sort:  

Wow this is masterfully beautiful.
This catches my fancy, I so admire your poetry!

Appeasing my nerves, trepidation has flown

Crossing the threshold 'twixt your world and mine
I reach for your hand as two souls intertwine

Thank you so much! :)

Congratulations. This post is featured in this week's Muxxybot Poetry Curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-poetry-curation-6

You got your rhyme​ game down! <3

It's an older piece, and I don't typically rhyme.... thank you!! <3

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

I accept. Thank you :)

Sweet dreams, Tina. Lovely poem again!

Thank you Dee :)

On all occasions you are superb. This had a perfect meter, and it was a fun little adventure. Nice write. I'll be looking forward to more rhymes. ;-)

Thanks my friend.... it might be a while though lol. I appreciate your support :)

great post tinajordan! keep it up! and thanks again for following!

Thanks for your support :)

That is beautiful. And that photo looks like its right out of a dream. <3

Thank you! I try to find a pic that relays the feeling of what I write. <3

You sound good when you rhyme lol. Love it!!

Thank you :D <3

some nights are harder than others - like last night - I feel like Hamlet - I'd count myself king of infinite space, were it not that I have bad dreams.

Those nights are tough indeed. I've spent the past several years teaching others how to improve their dream experience, but sometimes those not so pleasant dreams have to find their place in the spotlight..

yes, they're a reflection of places we go, it seems

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15