Solstice Portal

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Solstice Portal

A trilling sweetness is weaving its way through summer-greened
Birch branches, reminiscent of yesterday's wine flavored kiss.
I bid farewell to the sinking sun and follow the trail of its fragile rays
To the edge of the field, stopping but a few paces in front of the forest wall.
My senses are heightened so that I feel the subtle brush of cotton
Skirt against my shins and smell the very efflorescence of the coming night.
The serene chirp of miniature watchmen bid me forward in reassuring
Tones as I step lightly and slowly in respectful awareness of their presence.
I enter not empty handed, but bear the gift of my heart wrapped in humbled
Reverence and offered up into the dusk as a melange of whispered melodies.
Deeper I travel, and my song becomes bolder and laced with increasing ardor.
The darkness overcomes me, and I surrender at once to an ethereal feeling.
There is a certainty inside that calls for my pause, and I hear the mesmerism
In your voice only seconds before I am captured anew by your gentle magic.

Copyright Tina Jordan 2017 All Rights Reserved

birch-792054_1280.jpg
Image via Pixabay

Sort:  

Excellent poetry piece..fascinated by the last stanza...

Thank you so much :)

a sensual glimpse into a summery world

Thank you :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.84 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 07 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hmm, who or what do you meet at the end? Images of insects and grasshoppers watching you are brilliant. I'm going to guess you're meeting a bf :)
I really enjoyed this poem.

I left it open for the reader to decide. In my mind's eye, it was an otherworldly being.... ;) Thanks so much!

Oh, this is the mood, perfectly captured.

What a beautifully painted procession. <3

Thank you <3

This is why we have friends. <3

I removed that part of my comment.

And an amazing friend you are <3

I feel the same about you -- so glad we crossed paths. <3

Thank you so much :)

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

What a beautiful image and poem for the Solstice. You are very talented my dear. I so enjoyed your post.

I sure appreciate that!! :) And glad you enjoyed!

wow..
I am dawnloading the image

The image is via Pixabay, thanks for stopping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54