Craven

in #poetry6 years ago

I fear

that my eyes
will betray me

revealing far more
than I dare allow

thus

I cast my regard
downward

feigning indifference

while inwardly
my heart fights
to recoup
its cowardly cadence

until I concede
to the inevitable

and our gazes

collide anew

© 2018 Tina Jordan, All Rights Reserved
christian-holzinger-502231-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Christian Holzinger via Unsplash

Sort:  

Nice write.

Thank you so much. I'm floundering trying to regain my footing in life, but getting there... :)

Cuánto podemos ocultar los sentimientos ante el otro, @tinajordan? Dicen por ahí que el hambre y el amor no se pueden ocultar. Siempre se desborda, siempre se huele. Esos últimos versos dan muestra de ese momento justo y especial: cuando las miradas se cruzan y se saben buscada. No hay escapatoria. Un abrazo y excelente texto.

I struggle with indifference more than I'd like to admit. We used to help co-host an open mic here in town and always came across great new talent with wonderful new words seldom heard.
Which is why I was adiment about doing an Ekphrasis art show.

Yes, I identify with that. In fact, I have given in to it somewhat. I am pleased to see you writing :)

I have been so busy with the 100 day challenge that I have neglected some of my favorite people on here -- this is fantastic write, Tina. <3

"The eyes are the windows to the soul" some think that is a beautiful sentiment, and some feel that is a terrifying liability. I think its both.

Keep writing, Tina - that's how you'll find your way

This poem can apply to so many things. To people we don't want to look at because we're afraid what we'll see (such as beggars, often), or people we don't want to see us looking at them (people who dislike us), or people we want to look at, and who want to look at us, but we don't want to look at one another at the same time or to admit we want to keep looking.

Which is what I feel this piece is about.

And the masks we wear end up being our true faces. What a risky game it is, to play games.

I just love that image! The description you have given it is also amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17