Cataclysm at Morgan's Pass

in #poetry7 years ago

the flaw in my logic
won't let me see past the
embers of a slowly dwindling campfire

they snap and scamper
into the night like miniature barbarians
prancing in ritualistic caper

waves of sweetly scented smoke
incite a trembling in my core
chipping away the burden of fear

ten thousand sharp and glistening
tentacles of white pierce the blackness
and hew my path into the infinite

my shallow breaths placated
I smile down upon the
abandoned shell... drifting slightly askew

into a province of stardust
I bolt headlong
giving chase to the savage fire dancers

Copyright 2017 Tina Jordan, All Rights Reserved

toa-heftiba-362196.jpg
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Sort:  

That's beautiful and you found the perfect picture to complement it.

Thanks so much @debralee :)

great post, tinajordan as usual!

Thank you kindly :)

Love it! Been a while since I have read such intreaguing poetry!

a beautiful series of visual images depicting the pursuit of the passion of dreams...even into the beyond. Love the artistry as always and the well-chosen photo, Tina.

Thanks John :) Often it's harder to find a photo that fits than it is to write the piece :D

Reminds me of bonfires on the beach :) Oh my forgotten youth! Lovely poem but a bit scary :)

Oh, indeed.. the days of old. The scary vibe from this piece stems from her death, although she finds within it a new freedom... Thank you <3

Makes me want to be at the fire's edge​. <3

<3 Thank you <3

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 99.0% @steemdrive upgoat, thanks to @tinajordan
It consists of $1.17 vote and $0.39 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66028.29
ETH 2694.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89