Shattered in Darkness - an original poem

in #poetry7 years ago

Alone I sit
Body still
Strong of mind
Weak of will

In this corner
Where I rest
Surrounded by darkness
Life a failed test

Love of silence
Seclusion makes me humble
Dare not leave my cell
Out there I'll stumble

Bury it deep
Storing it within
Hate so dark
Soul full of sin

I fought for so long
Cannot defeat my demon
Trying to hide it
Locked inside screaming

Nowhere safe from my thoughts
Why did I let the evil in
Corrupting my soul
Sinister thoughts again

Stripped of smile
Sad and alone
Cold and dying
Heart of stone

With dawn come new urges
Thoughts of hate
Twisting and bending
Under the weight

This monster within
I blame you
Keeping me locked away
Turning the screw

Tonight we end it
This is the only cure
Cutting the wrist
Bleeding my soul pure


Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41