Country Roads - Poetry Inspired By A PhotosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago

Country roads
Leading me home
Two lane blacktop
I used to roam

Hidden away
In an Appalachian hollow
Easy to get lost
If you don't follow

No mansions
Mostly small shacks
Criss crossed
By train tracks

Small towns built
By big coal
Deep in the mountain
Through an endless black hole

The wealth has gone
No cash in hand
Only way to survive
Is off the land

These mountains
Are my life, my home
My heaven on earth
Til I'm gone

20171225_130705.jpg
Photo taken by me

Sort:  

Country roads will lead you home!

Yes they will

I remember the mountains I looked at while growing up. The valley was long, and at the North end was Bidwell. The mountain looked like it had a face on it. I called it, Mister Mountain. :-) I miss him. XO Cheers! Great little poem! Glad to see you again, here on Steemit! Cheers!

I do love the mountains. Thank you! Glad to see you're still around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70