Terra Mater's Last Flight

in #poetry7 years ago

Slow and wide,
right,
'cause I'm in it for the long ride
'bout to swallow five pills which spell out:
PRIDE
The soil's dust gathers at the fringes of my mind,
The river's've all but gone dry,
Why the water, why?
I hear next year,
we'll fly,
To a planet similar in climate and size,
But one hundred​ times as fried.
Can't help but wonder:
Why?
The deliberate,
ignorant abuse,
And we kept all the receipts,
Printed of the trees from which we breath,
To write off on taxes,
For the money we print
Of leaves.

Too little, too late, I realize, and
in despair,
I sigh.

Ironically expelling a phantom whisper of
her Lifeblood

Why couldn't we read between the lines, see the warning signs, be quick on the draw in harnessing the light?
-I say it all within my mind.

Well, argues the "rightful legal owner" of the land:

'My great grand daddy paid a pretty penny for this plot,
Upon his passing, passed the paper deed on to his son,
In his passing, paw paw passed it on to paw,
Last month paw passed it on to me,
Says right here in his will!

And the critters don't pay no rent,
Never have never will,
So I have every right to demolish their earthly tent,
To collect my dues,
And interest accrued'

But -I pipe up, again, only in my mind- the money's only worth its weight in gold, or so it were long ago.

Nowadays, the money's only worth its weight in invisible tickets off this dizzying rock,

Was it worth it?
Everyone wonders silently as she fades into the black distance of deep space,
And breathes her dying
breath

'Cause tomorrow-
the money will only be worth its weight

in Death

A tear rolls down my cheek as I awaken from a nightmare of a dream.

Feeling sick with dread,
I shuffle over to the kitchen and pour myself a glass of water.

I'm parched.
But so is she

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62296.59
ETH 2441.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65