FAITH OF THE HOMELESS

in #poetry6 years ago

images (3).jpg

Have pity on me can't you see that I'm homeless,
I grow hungry and scared and I haven't a prayer.
To go to a home and possibly shake this aloneness.

I haven't a phone to call anyone that I know,
Everyone has abandoned me a very long time ago.
Haven't you the eyes to see me,
I go hungry all day.
And I also wander from place to place.
I dare not go anywhere,
That I'm not wanted
Or I'll be quickly ousted
Because they say,
I can't be trusted.

I have no hygiene to show,
Since I never do any laundry at all.
I'm dirty you see,
Please excuse me.
I'm embarrassed enough,
You know it's been tough.
Please have some pity,
Pretty please.

People know me and ignore me,
You see I'm called an outcast for sure.

I don't have any shoes,
That's because I always lose.
It's a terrible time,
I am that I'm going through.

Anything that is valuable you see,
Is only important to me.
I hold it all very dear.

I find crap all over the place,
I search and I am searching always in haste.
Hiding my face,
So no one can see me,
In the moonlit haze.

I'm a little sickly try not get close to me,
Unless you want some of my disease,
I'm sorry I just can't help it.
I haven't the need to say,
It is in my itchy feet.

People I'm told,
Live in the lap of luxury.
This will never be me,
You see I'm just not clean.
And that's the gist,
Of it all.

I need some help please,
You have to forgive me.
I'm begging so much,
I fear,
And I fear,
And i fear.

I'm almost 6 feet tall,
My children forgot about me so long ago,
It hurts me more everyday.

I was in the army you see,
I did not come out complete.
I can't explain it too complicated and long.

I guess it's the price you pay for the life that I have led,
I got into a lot of trouble along the way.

I wasn't planning to end up this way,
I guess it's called fate,
I haven't anything more to say.

That's just the way the ball rolls,
I will get older I just hope.
It's not going to be in this place,
I call home.

I heard there are shelters that I can go to,
But in this tunnel I stay.
Until the rats come out to play,
To eat every morsel in sight.

Without not even one cares,
I'm never really scared.
I know something good will arrive,
If only to strive to for me to stay alive.
In this hell.

I once again call my home.

My hair is all matted and gray,
And has lice.
I dare say,
My beard is as long as the day.
i just can't help it.

My shopping cart is full of my crap,
That you can quickly surmise.
That I gather all over the place.

The only thing that bothers me now is that I forgot my name,
It's ok,
I"m one of the nameless.

https://www.poetrysoup.com

DQmWHUZjHQFFJKUioxVAkfyHpKP4QYTyM2R5bqjQfHvsbUH.gif

Sort:  

Despite the riches of the world, it hurts to see people live in slums let alone without a roof to lay their head.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67383.45
ETH 3525.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70