Live life to the fullest, Poem 4: Know Thyself

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

This poem reflects about a feeling where you finally find yourself.

Where you don't feel like an object anymore, where you finally realise and feel your own exitatence. You feel it full throttle, the reality of it, the importance of it, the beauty of it! I know a lot of people, including me who have a really hard time being alone or being by themselves. The loneliness makes them feel depressed, but have you ever wondered what would happen if you embraced it just for a while at least. Have you ever spent time with yourself? Have you ever been on a walk with yourself out in the nature? Ever laid under the night sky just being in the moment? You have no idea how many new things you can discover about yourself when you see it not as something which has been forced on you but as something you enjoy. Know thyself my friend!

Know Thyself
Molten sapphire like this moment is
All these blue silences,
Nowhere is there a bottom
Nor is there a sky
Perhaps all there is are her grievances,
Murmur of the loneliness, like the rustling leaves
They are saying if there is one it’s only you
Only me, my breath, and my heartbeats, and the sky blue
Such depth
Such solidarity
And then just me
And alas today I feel my own presence in this world!


When I was younger, I saw a movie called 'Zindagi na milegi dobara' meaning 'You won't get this life again', hinting that we should live this life to the best. For who knows if we get an opportunity again or not. That turned out to be one of the best movies I have ever seen. One of the best things about the movie was Imraan's poems ( one of the lead characters). I have decided to share those with you all. Since they are in Hindi, I decided to translate them for you all and add a little @things touch to them. They are about life, love and people. These small peoms were a big motivation for me back in the time and well I hope you enjoy them too! I got inspiration of this series from @sjennon's project where she takes dutch songs and gives a beautiful translation. Here is a link to the first poem of this series https://steemit.com/poetry/@things/live-life-to-the-fullest-poem-1-alive


Written by @things, 2017. All rights reserved.
Image by Pexels

Sort:  

This is absolutely beautiful. The best relationship we can have is the one with ourselves, all the answers we will ever need is deep within us. Thank you so much for reminding us

First of all, thank you so much for such an amazing comment and second of all, I agree with you. We just run away from ourselves so much that we miss out on a lot of important things about ourselves, things which we never figure out!

No problem! The poem was beautiful and it's true its so easy to get lost in the misdst of things so its always great to come back to ourselves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84