Friend (part one)

in #poetry6 years ago

FRIEND
We worked hard
Let’s get a drink
We deserve it
Don’t you think
Having a good time
Just good clean fun
Relieving our stress
Our work week is done
Your always thinking
Sober driver you are
I can depend on you
We’re safe in your car
Up in the distance
I see the lights around the curve
Intoxicated fool at the wheel
You slam the brakes as we swerve
I feel the iron
Piercing my heart
My dearest friend
It’s time we part
I lay in your arms
Blank stare in my eyes
You hold me close
As my body dies
You called me friend
I believed in you
Now it’s too late
For salvation true
You held your tongue
Please tell me why?
You never SHOWED me Christ
Without Him, you let me die
Every so often
You’d try to get me to go
To your church with you
But it was nothing but show
I saw nothing in you
That made me wish to take part
After all there was no difference
In mine and your heart
We played and we sinned
We shared our wretched lives
You were right beside me
In all the hellish dives
If only you had stood
Bold, brave and strong
Perhaps I wouldn’t be
In hell eternally long
The flames and the heat
The screams of those around
Gnashing of teeth
Torments abound
These are horrid
This much is true
But not as bad as the truth
Withheld from me by you
We were friends
Buddies and brothers in deed
You were such a great friend
You kept back my greatest need
DON’T EVER CALL ME FRIEND AGAIN!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67519.16
ETH 3532.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68