The Curse of a Poet

in #poetry7 years ago

heartbreak-1209211_1920.jpg

Speaking from my heart
Sharing my honest thoughts
She consumes every word I say
But always laughing it off

Is that what you say to all the girls?
Hahaha, you think you are slick?
Lol you are real smooth.
Why won't she take me serious?

I can't help that I am a wordsmith
I can't help that I have a way with words
I can't help that you inspire me
And everything I say has a poetic undertone

I look at you and I can't help but smile
The thoughts you triggered in my head
No, I am not one to play with your mind

Although I wouldn't mind, you being exclusively mine
Right now we are in no position for a serious relationship
But that doesn't mean we can’t lay a foundation
Put together a blueprint for when the time is right

I am not trying to use your body
I am trying to claim it
Leave my mark
Scratch that
Make my mark
Because I don't plan on leaving

I can see you, rolling your eyes
I can hear you say; Mhm that's what they all say.
This is where I tell you how different I am
But not this time around
Instead I will show you how different I am
There will never be a change in the way I treat you whether or not people are around

Feelings being misinterpreted as just another poem
My honest thoughts seen as game
Being accused of running laps around her
I guess this is the curse of a poet being trapped in his own poetry

Image Credit: pixabay.com
If you like my style of poetry click the link http://a.co/4MWIj8v and purchase a copy of my latest collection of poetry: Identity Crisis and don't forget to upvote. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44