We Gods Didn't Just Fall Here-- We Landed

in #poetry6 years ago

1937085_1212462553020_6224766_n.jpg

So if time is an illusion,

like a coiling dream tunnel,
that we, as gods, maneuver

and if we are all born into fragile bodies
through countless reincarnations
over many thousands of years,

then by now, we should know
that the idea of having a past or a future
can only be happening now

that the thousands of lives, those here's and nows,
all spilled into one, all happening at once,

a magnificent moment when everything is,
that we, as gods, can imagine right now

where few will dare to look straight into the sun
to see ourselves for what we really are

and when it's easy to look back,
and to call this world a mistake

for the first time, we live in a mortal spin
for the last time, we gods are here on Earth

but we didn't just fall here- we landed



photo above is mine, 2010

IMG_4721.jpg
thanks for looking in!

Click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

like a coiling dream tunnel,
that we, as gods, maneuver

I feel like a god maneuvering that coiling dream tunnel called time right now. This is too deep for cheap words!

Posted using Partiko Android

You may be that god! Thanks for looking in.

We landed...and we helped jumpstart your civilization after the first failed attempt.

Your poetry is divine lately!

And I have to agree, we landed. I've been thinking a lot about child rearing lately, with my cousin choosing to become a father at this late stage and a number of other friends having babies. I always felt that I was just the vessel that brought Zoe and Ethan here, honored to be the one to guide and protect them while they were young, but otherwise I've always known that they belong to themselves, and I am not superior I just have more experience from time spent. And then I wonder- did we contract before coming to this place? Agree to be the ones to shuttle these spirits into this plane?

Sorry, babbling :)

The place is sounding more and more like a game, or a ride, as Bill Hicks said. I've wondered the same, if we all signed up at the same time, right after we made arrangements to meet up here in various ways. As a parent, these thoughts tend to come up I suppose.

This post was made for babbling!

Whew.

Whistles

This... is excellent, and I'll try to return with a poem when I'm feeling more poetic.

But yes, time is - in a certain sense - an illusion, and what ideas come from that are almost beyond our wildest imaginings, perhaps they are our wildest imaginings.

Thanks! To test the flexibility of the illusion, I will 'look forward' to your poem.

Once again you did it in your own unique style :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79