Us and the Darkness

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

images.jpg
  Night settles over the outside, sweeping over the landscape like a thick cloak. Inside, you wrap yourself around me, and I nestle against you. We talk, quietly, with long gaps in between. It is a comfortable silence, the kind you enjoy being enveloped in. I snuggle closer to you, breathing your scent, and needing to feel your skin more closely pressed against my own. You kiss my head, and pull me against you. As I hear your heartbeat against my face, I let my thoughts drift, drift to the day we first met, the first time I knew I loved you.
  It seems like I've loved you forever somehow, as if our souls somehow intertwined before we even existed. I'm brought back to the present by your voice softly telling me "I love you" followed by short kisses left on my forehead and face. In that moment, I know, I have found my home, not a state, not a city, not a zipcode, but a little spot in your heart carved out for me. As I start to drift off, I realize I need nothing more, than me, you, and the darkness.

Sort:  

wow, poetry is just another one of your amazing skills! <3

Haha, I wouldn't say any of my skills are "amazing" but thank you! <3

Simply beautiful.

Source

Thank u so much!

ahhh , nice poetry!!

Thank u so much! 😚

Congratulations @thepinkbyhamann! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65