Poetry written for musicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Trying to shut out the open plan office noise I slapped my earphones in and started my 50+ youtube mix. At first I was working furiously to great sounding music…. And then…
Along came Leonard …. And I fell straight down the music rabbithole



Image Credit

This post is not about the music but rather the so sensitively crafted lyrics…. Poetry to me in all senses of the word

poetry
/ˈpəʊɪtri/Submit
noun
literary work in which the expression of feelings and ideas is given intensity by the use of distinctive style and rhythm; poems collectively or as a genre of literature.
Credits

Ah, the last time we saw you you looked so much older
Your famous blue raincoat was torn at the shoulder
You'd been to the station to meet every train
And you came home without Lili Marlene

And you treated my woman to a flake of your life
And when she came back she was nobody's wife.

Well I see you there with the rose in your teeth
One more thin gypsy thief
Well I see Jane's awake --

She sends her regards.

And what can I tell you my brother, my killer
What can I possibly say?
I guess that I miss you, I guess I forgive you
I'm glad you stood in my way.
Listen

Many men have loved the bells
you fastened to the rein,
and everyone who wanted you
they found what they will always want again.
Your beauty lost to you yourself
just as it was lost to them.
Oh take this longing from my tongue,
whatever useless things these hands have done.
Let me see your beauty broken down
like you would do for one you love.

Your body like a searchlight
my poverty revealed,
I would like to try your charity
until you cry, "Now you must try my greed."
And everything depends upon
how near you sleep to me
Listen

Dance me to the children who are asking to be born
Dance me through the curtains that our kisses have outworn
Raise a tent of shelter now, though every thread is torn
Dance me to the end of love

Dance me to your beauty with a burning violin
Dance me through the panic till I'm gathered safely in
Touch me with your naked hand or touch me with your glove
Dance me to the end of love
Listen

@twolittlebirds … there is a time and place for this music {grin}. There are many other great lyricists .... I may well get to them at some stage. Thanks for stopping by.

Namaste

https://experts.auctus.org?register=true&ref=YTRDAVX

Sort:  

if you proceed working hard like that ...i hope you will be a good author,
why do you fell straight down the music rabbithole,

Thanks for your response.... Music just sucks me in and I get hopelessly distracted. Cannot help it {smile}

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50