(The Price Of Weakness) - Poetic-surge Poetry Contest #1. / An Original Poem

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

There are times a weak mind is the greatest of sins.

GutsEvilSmile.png

Image Source

The Price Of Weakness

It happened again,
waking alone in the dark,
my memory, empty,
my hunger, sated.

How long has it been
since I could face this madness,
my mind undrained by incessant cravings,
unbound by that haunted sadness.

"We will always love you."
They named me a Devil,
saw in my eyes
Madness in which I revel.

That need I feel,
that dark, festering desire,
it must be sealed,
for them.

Too weak within
I cry as my eyes go red,
no void to hide in
just blood to shed.

Everything lost,
the cracks begin to show

Everyone lost,
the cracks begin to show.

.
.
.

This is my entry to the Poetic-surge Poetry Contest hosted by @tony-duke and @ajremy.

I'd like to thank the lovely people at the @isleofwrite for helping me edit this poem, and especially @geekorner for opening my eyes to what a monstrosity the first version of this was. Bless his soul.

-Themadrunnah
If you like what you've read, feel free to comment, upvote, or follow! I'll be posting daily!

Sort:  

Very dark but also fascinating.
I like the hook..

It happened again,
waking alone in the dark,
my memory, empty,
my hunger, sated

Good luck with the poetry contest!

Thanks for dropping by and reading!

Wow, man that's really awesome, you really have talent brother....tell me how can i vote you :)

Afraid only the judges vote but thanks for the well-wishes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59216.84
ETH 2526.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52