Poem - Ship of Love

in #poetry7 years ago

Ship of Love

My love is blowing hot and cold
across a map of stars
And all the winds behind its sail
are coloured by its wars
And all the wounds behind its veil
are fathered by its flaws
And all the sounds of common strife
are grifting with its oars

By tattered trade winds blown in squall
It’s tacking at a slant
Across this pitch of blackened glass
Misted by its rants

My love consumes a debt of waves
And tongues the lusting shore
Its only owners are its slaves
their glamour is its pall

My love runs true, a ship of state
cast out in stateless seas
Above its foam, below its grime
We haul our destinies

My love peeps out behind the sky
that hides the prying dawn
Advancing down the hidden lines
our destinies have drawn

My love is lashed upon the wheel
and binds the rudders too
My love is creeping on the decks
My love is running true

My love is faltered by the whip
My love has broken bounds
My love is turmoil on the waves
My love is running ground

My love is free, my love is caged
It’s free, then caged again
My love is all the cast of time
Its women and its men

My love is steel, my love is rope
My love is fear, my love is hope
My love is limit, my love it’s scope

My love is lost, my love is found
My love is heat, my love is sound
And all the engines of my love
Can't turn this ship around


If you enjoyed my poem, please consider resteeming it. It doesn't cost you anything and I'd love my work to reach a wide audience in this fantastic community of ours. Thank you for your support.

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Sort:  

Beautiful rhythm! The flow makes me feel like the poem embodies the ship of your love, and its sailing is truly stunning!

Thank you for your really thoughtful comments, I really appreciate it.

You're welcome! Anytime! Thank you for the amazing poem

It's beautiful! This should be made into a song!

It does cost something to upvote you - TIME

BUT I am more than happy to give mine to you @thebigdelay, I confess you are one of my new muses....❤️

I curate #poetry and posts with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out more in the NEW Poetry Dice Challenge

Thanks that's very sweet of you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57864.58
ETH 2697.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21