Until the Last Light Dims - Original PoetrysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago

This is a piece that has been stirring around in my head, piece by piece, during sleepless nights

The air has become colder, but the mind is the same,

The lights more defined, reflecting from the darkness of its frame,

A yawn wants to escape from deep in my throat,

But there is still much yet of my story I have not wrote.


Anxiousness about things that haven't been done, waiting for the break of day,

Will sleep escape me again, will I catch just a peek, into dreams for which I pray,

Isolation, Contemplation, Scattered Thoughts, they are everywhere to far apart,

Like putting together a puzzle, with pieces from different boxes, different art,


Just give me the calmness, the look away from the screen,

To give these eyes a rest, to stop thinking, Cut! End of Scene,

This body feels old, even when nothing is done,

But I'm still awake, with the alarm set, I really should run.

To go to bed, set things aside, truly some time for me,

But until that last light dims, I'm stuck, insomnia is the decree.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.21 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56298.58
ETH 2463.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32