(Original Work) The Sorrow of Shared Parenting

in #poetry8 years ago

I felt moved to write this piece as I have gone two days without hearing from my little one...

THE SORROWS OF SHARED PARENTING

I see you when you're with me, I hear your gentle voice,

I see you when you're away from me, and hear the songs we play,

I think about the good times we've had and times of our favorite choice,

You are always with me, in my heart, whether close or far away.


The pain of knowing that I caused this to sting my every cell.

To be without you any day, is a pain I never thought I'd have felt,

The happiness we share together eases my mind, and makes all well,

But the loneliness and empty home that I created, that's the hand that I have been dealt.


I will wait by the phone, patiently, waiting for a call or text,

Hoping just to hear a "hello", "I gotta go" or an "I love you dad",

I count the hours, minutes and seconds for when I'll see you next,

And until then I know you are not to blame for my heart and soul feeling bad.


We will plant trees, feed the animals, and watch our shows on Netflix,

We will find a cabin in the woods, and explore nature together,

You'll feed the rabbits, the pig and the baby chicks,

And I'll do all of these things, if there is ever stormy weather.


Even work is fun when I have my favorite pal,

But motivation to do much more is difficult without you,

So text, or call or just think of me or whatever you shall,

But know that because of you, you just being around helps me make it through.

I love you, Cheyenne. Daddy is always thinking about you...


Sort:  

I believe I was in voice chat with you and the others when you were having this conversation last night. From a fellow dad...

Thanks, Winston. Good chatting with you.

Big holiday weekends are the hardest. We lost our little girl in a custody dispute in which her biological Dad got the upper hand. Christmas and birthdays are most difficult for my wife.

I empathize with you

My series is about a little boy. It's based on my son. I don't want him to know the whole truth so I write semi-nonfiction,

Beautifully done. I know the feeling. You are a good Dad.

I can completely relate. We share very similar situations. I used to struggle with it a lot more. Thanks for this sense of solidarity @tee-em
full $teem ahead!
@streetstyle

I promoted it with some Steem cents, we'll see what happens.

Thanks, man. I didn't think, I just wrote. Raw stuff. Appreciate your support, streetstyle.

Ouch. I have a kid.

The Boy Who Loved To Sing

Ill check it out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58471.44
ETH 2587.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44