Daddy (My Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)


This my love--

Is where it begins

The pain--

The sorrow--

My weeping wind

My father lying on the floor

My mother in tears

As she runs through the door

"Daddy, I love you!"

"Please don't be dead!"

The blood coursing

Through his head

My tiny fingers pry

"Please open your eyes!"

You told me you loved me

And you'd never die

It just doesn't matter

How hard I cry

But I keep on trying

To deny...


God, I'm begging You--

Please don't take him away

At least let us have him

Just one more day

I need him God

To help me grow

To teach me the lessons

That I need to know

What kind of man

Will I become now

Without him here

To show me how?


The paramedics arrive--

Please keep him alive

I stand and I watch

As they strive to revive

He's carried through the house

And out the back door

Goodbye my father

I'll see you no more...


So now you see--

That little boy became me

The nervous child--

That angry teen--

This troubled adult

Now sees what it means

A memory ingrained

Into my very soul

Sometimes, I confess--

I lose all control...


Thirty-one years

Have now gone by

But no longer do I stop

To question why

Bother me it does

And so it should

But I look to my mother

And I see the good

You see my love--

Mortal death never wins

Praise God Almighty

I'll see Daddy again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63