God's Love

in #poetry7 years ago


The other night while fast asleep
I had a dream so deep and real
As I lay peacefully in bed
This dream changed how I think and feel

I dreamt I was the one true God
All-powerful, generous, kind
Back in the old wild west, I was
Watching, with love, over mankind

The Indians and cowboys there,
In the heart of New Mexico,
Loved me and worshiped faithfully
As I watched each one learn and grow

They created wondrous things
With intricate, clever design!
They flourished with wisdom and love
Inspired by all things divine

But in this vivid dream I had
Not all stayed peaceful, calm, and still
Soon, Indians and cowboys fought
Killing hundreds against my will

Conflict arose as each side found
They wanted things the other had
Their hearts were claimed by jealousy
As greed and anger drove them mad

There was no mercy as they fought
Their mindless anger was too strong
All day and night their battle cries
Ate at my soul and carried on

I love my children, each and all
Despite the errors in their ways
I wanted to protect them all
So I made the skies rain for days

It flooded paths and stopped the fights
As neither side could stand the rain
But my children soon opposed me
Wanting the right to inflict pain

They cursed me and renounced their faith
Abandoning their love of good
A lust for war consumed their hearts
But giving up, I never would

Distraught, I ruled the rains to stop
Giving my children what they'd asked
I watched as they destroyed themselves
Never was there a harder task

Watching the ones you love in pain,
To offer help and be excused..
It isn't easy being God
What's there to do when you're refused?

They curse me when they're suffering
And rebel when I interfere
I love them unconditionally
And for them I am always here

But being just and kind and fair
Not giving up on those you love
Is never easy as it seems-
Not even for the "man above"

Still, here I am, eternally
For all my children worldwide
Loving them, whether they love me
Not giving up or taking sides

And I will watch with open arms,
An open heart, and open ears
For the day when they once again
Request my help with all their fears

I'll watch them each and every day
And care for them forevermore
No matter how far they may stray
My children, I'll always adore.

As I awoke from this great dream,
I felt so deeply touched and moved
I thanked God for sharing His love
And greeted morning, feeling soothed

Each day since, when I feel alone,
Overcome with anxiety,
I close my eyes, think of this dream
And remember how much God loves me 


My Other Works:

http://rhythmicwriting.blogspot.com 

Images:

https://salemnet.vo.llnwd.net


Thank you for reading! Please follow, upvote and resteem <3

#writingfeather

Sort:  

I love this @teambbc very well written, very well told. You are a magnificent writer. Do not be discouraged if the replies are low. Things will get better. please just keep writing and sharing your beautiful mind and heart. I see you and I will now be following and I will wait to upvote tomorrow maybe my vote will be higher.

Thank you so much for the kind and thoughtful response! I haven't yet made an introductory post, but I probably should! :) I'm still getting to grips with things here! I will always keep writing! I'm glad to have somebody to share with now :) :)

Yes I look forward to your future post. Also I am sending you some SBD as a love offering. You can look for it in about 2 minutes. Have a great Weekend. I am sure it's peaceful where you are I am getting ready to hunker down...Hurrican Nate should be headed my way by Monday hopefully by then it will have calmed down to a mild tropical storm, but you never know...

Thank you so much! I have never once received anything based on my writing! Your kind comments have inspired me! I hope Hurricane Nate didn't hit too hard where you are! Sorry for the delay in response, I have been in bed with the flu, but it's getting better now :)

You are welcome. The hurricane bypassed us. Grateful for that. I hope you continue to feel better. @teambbc.

I was also looking to see if you did an introductory post. If you have not this too will break the ice and help you get to know other steemians. I am kind of new also and connecting in discord and curating and reaching out and replying to other post has truly brought the love to my blog. Its a gradual growth but growth just the same. Much success to you here. I will be supporting you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 56420.74
ETH 2938.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22