Poem 1

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit,

This is my first post.

I'm new and still learning the platform, so I'm sorry if anything is against etiquette. It's exciting to get involved, imagining how far the integration of social media and value exchange could take us. It's entirely possible that our social media accounts could evolve into something to replace currency, as a way to digitally barter... maybe I'll explore that in a separate post.

I like writing poetry, so I thought I'd share some. My writings usually never see the light of day, probably for good reason, but I don't have anything else to contribute at the moment and want to post something to get a feel for how things work.

The imagery of this one was triggered by an old painting my mother got as a gift when she graduated school. I took it when I moved out of home (thanks mum!). The painting is of an intimate forest setting with a winding path through the large trunks of trees that disappear into a dark canopy. I get pretty excited to go on forest walks, I love trees, I love pondering their relative timelessness and exploring all the different little neighbourhoods of the forest. There's nothing very literal about the poem, it's just a feeling.

Let me take you
On a walk through a picture
A picture to walk through with you

Let me take you
On a walk through a picture
A picture that is painted for two

Come with me
On this gold rimmed dream
With clouds of silver and white

Come with me
Peer up and out
These clouds are hidden from sight

I am only here
I am only now
I can only think as to know how

I cannot see afar
I cannot see high
But I can now see what has been hidden from my eyes

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

welcome to steemit :)

Welcome, however, I think you should have told us your basic biography before the poem

Thanks for the feedback, appreciate it. Any advice on how I should rectify this? Do a new introduction post, edit this one, something else?

Good one! Welcome to steemit!
Pls upvote and Follow me @digitaldollar and I will follow you too!

Welcome aboard! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52