Seeing Red

in #poetry6 years ago


Seeing Red


Under the sun they were created, as under the moon they lied
Dreaming asleep unabated and nightmare the beautiful bride
Wanting what the next has, coveting what was toiled and tried
Unable to admit folly and falsehood while to mirror they cried

Proclaiming from the roof tops the way they have found is true
Telling all who will listen that what they know will lead through
Chest full of certainty with knuckles whitened hidden from view
The blind and downtrodden nod in agreement sitting in the pew

Crown of thorns placed upon own head as self-made martyrs
Not more of a meal offered than repetitive screams as starters
While in back they whisper together hoping someone barters
Trades them gold and value for cruel and ill-thought charters

Broken they are and angry for not delivering on what was said
Ignorant to the fact that what they were told was in their head
Drifting in a world surrounded yet feeling alone and seeing red
Not taking an outstretched hand willing to help but rather bled

To each their own they will say but what is owned they claim
After giving it all up for other they regret and look to lay blame
Howling and pawing thinking their breath carries mighty flame
When push comes to shove they withdraw to cower in shame.


Taraz
[ a Steem original ]


Sort:  

Beautiful poem. I have my own interpretation but I will not post it here because I do not want to change others thoughts. I just don't want to put religious debate into it.

Beautiful photograph as well. What are those berries? I imagine that they are not edible, since I have never come across them. I love the way the light shines through them. They seem to be almost clear, or filled with liquid. I bet they're really juicy.

I have my own interpretation but I will not post it here because I do not want to change others thoughts.

This is why I generally don't explain these. I think it is up to the viewer to interpret.

I imagine that they are not edible, since I have never come across them.

They are edible.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Redcurrant

Redcurrant
The redcurrant, or red currant (Ribes rubrum) is a member of the genus Ribes in the gooseberry family. It is native across Europe. The species is widely cultivated and has escaped into the wild in many regions.Ribes rubrum is a deciduous shrub normally growing to 1–1.5 m (3.3–4.9 ft) tall, occasionally 2 m (7 ft), with five-lobed leaves arranged spirally on the stems. The flowers are inconspicuous yellow-green, in pendulous 4–8 cm (2–3 in) racemes, maturing into bright red translucent edible berries about 8–12 mm (0.3–0.5 in) diameter, with 3–10 berries on each raceme.

Wow. That Wiki text bot is actually very useful. I went to the link and then noticed the comment when I returned. Could have saved me some time if I noticed it first.

I'm now wondering why I have never seen these in America. We have a grocery store that sells rare produce from all over the world. I may have to go check there. if anyone has them it will be them.

Wiki says they grow across Europe, and they are now spreading wildly. This makes me think that they should grow in the United States as well. Our climates are similar. Maybe the seeds just haven't been planted. Perhaps I will find some seeds online and try to bring them to America.

I enjoy changing the world in small ways like that. Just a few years ago black squirrels were brought to my state, in captivity, as pets. A few people started breeding them, and some were freed Into the Wild. We now have black squirrels being born in the wild every year.

These black squirrels are breeding with our grey and red squirrels which are making some beautiful colors and breeds. Perhaps the same thing could be done with these berries. I'll have to do a little research on the climate zones first. I know there are different species of these. Maybe one of these species will grow and flourish where I am at.😁

Sometimes this can be dangerous. It has happened with different insects, birds, and predators, which have devoured other populations, but this is just a plant. A useful and edible one at that. What harm could it possibly do? This is going to be fun. Maybe you will hear about them growing wild in America within the next few years. 😊

I guess this is stamped on the block chain now, so they will be able to find the person responsible if any bad does come of this.😞

It appears you'll need to give us insights on interpretations sometimes. Can't quite figure this out...in the sense that I feel it addresses arrogance and jealousy but I can't quite put my finger on the specific groups addressed

THese are 'open to interpretation' pieces :)

your poem what I relate to the creation in Genesis. when Adan and Eva were the Eden and ate ka forbidden fruit. were thrown from the garden of Eden. alone on Earth. to blame for its disobedience and now suffering by getting your food. convicted but then forgiven.

The poetry is so beautiful .
Nice photo shoot .
Your photography skill is well .

Thanks for sharing @tarazkp

Beautiful ❤️
The poetry
The image
All of it❤️

How adorable they are! And so is your photography skills

You got a 31.80% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85