The In-Between, a poem by Sylvia Tegan

in #poetry7 years ago

This is my 2nd ever post on Steemit. I'm opening up and sharing a poem I wrote years ago. It is one of the few, and probably the best, poem I've ever written. I woke up one morning and this came pouring out of me. Alos, the photo I took a few months ago of a stormy Kansas sky. Enjoy and let me know your thoughts! Thanks!

The In-Between
by Sylvia TeganTealKSstormySky.jpg

The morning sun lights up my world. But I am not ready to be awake…
up, moving, doing.
Put me back to sleep my friend the night. Rock me in a cradle of sparkling stars and lightly kiss between my eyes with your spiraling tendrils of galaxy dust.
I know You live there. I have seen you in the corners of waking. In the sideways, hide-and-seek, crevasses my mind I have peeked at you and smiled. But it is not my mind.
It is the in-between.
In the dreaming hours when all is still and yet it’s not I have glimpsed the knowing and the not knowing in a place where truth simply IS.
I know you have seen this place. You know it too. It is deeper than the wild blue ocean, waiting to swallow you up in warm waves of ever-moving stillness.
There is color there. Colors with out names, names without sounds, sounds without sight. But Oh, the beauty of it.
It is safe and comforting, wide and yet minute.
It feels like a tiny pinpoint of light within an endless sky of purple darkness. It Is the shining pinprick, it Is the violet expanse.
They meet and are ONE in the moment of a baby bird bursting out of its shell, they gasp with the sound of the first intake of breath of a newborn, they applaud the first light smudges of a rainbow on a stormy sky, and yes they twist and turn and explode with ripples of laughter as you collapse, hand and hand, beaming and breathless in a field of grass.
Yes, you have seen this place. Or if you have not seen, then you have heard, if you have not heard, then you have felt. Remember now? All life that encompasses one single smile, one breath, one kiss, one word.
I know you remember, for I have met you there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59431.63
ETH 2320.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50