The Brave Canoe...Writers Block Poetry Contest Week 6

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

The Brave Canoe.
I must take the chance
Though the stormy sky does reign.
I must make the journey
To get back home again.

I am the one who can,
Who can make it safe across the bay.
I am the one that must
Face the storm ahead today.

I must leave my safety
As no other one would try.
To take this man to his safer place
I must face the stormy sky.

I must head to sea now
As the stormy sky does rain.
For to take this soul back home
So he can see his own again.

I will take his lead now
As best as I can do
Just one man in a storm
Sailing in me; his small canoe.

The remit: Write a poem using the following image:

A small canoe tied to a pier, bobbing in the water under almost stormy skies.

................................................................................................................................
This is my first time in a poetry contest and I decided I'd write from the canoe's point of view - loyalty, fear, belief, strength of will. I am fully aware that canoe's don't have feelings..... or do they? ;)

I guess this is what happens when you have children... all objects have 'life' ....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76