Poem by Mum #4 - The Peaceful End 1973

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

As I lie in this old room,
I keep staring into the gloom.
My lips are dry, my throat is sore.
Please, Please Help. I can't stand much more.

The washing's still hanging on the line.
It's been there quite some time.
Neighbours went by the other day,
One told the other "she must be away"..

Oh! My chest is as a burning fire.
Consuming pain, I think I'm about to die.

The gloomy room seems brighter now.
Must get help! I don't know how.
A Noise! Someone's there at the door,
The Postman, he's not been a week or more.
I must get up, mind the stool.
You'll fall over you clumsy fool!
Hey! Don't go away, please give me a hand.
You're the only one near, the only one that can.

Oh! My chest is like a burning fire.
It's a sure sign I'm about to die.

What's that he says? Am I alright?
No, man I'm not. I'm in a terrible plight,
The pain rages hot, I hear heaven's church bell,
Oh wait! It's an ambulance, now I can tell.

That nice soft pillow beneath my head,
Feels way better than one on my old bed.
The Doctor's here, he's speaking low,
Telling some one else it's time to go.
My chest's no longer a burning fire.
My soul, with peace, is travelling higher.
No more loneliness and no more pain.
Goodbye dear world, til we meet again.

It's the first month of 2018 and I'm still going through my mother's effects after she died Christmas Eve (Thanks Mum).
I've found a book of poems she's written through the years. (Thanks Mum).
I'm going to put one on Steemit each day I can until the book is done so if nothing else someone out there will see her work and have some kind of emotional reaction. If not the book is consigned to a box, just like my Mum is now, never to see daylight again.
It's the least I can do to pass the time and honour her in one.

steemit follow download.jfif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82