Don't Make Me Your World [Original Poetry]

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

dontmakemeyourworld.jpg

All my continents are third world,
impoverished and starving.
They nuke each other
until everyone is breathing
ash and glowing green.
My embrace is smog and haze.

There's not enough of me-
I am small
and irreparably cracked.
No gold rests in my crevices.

I am not an ampersand
or a semi-colon
I am a period
(a parenthetical in your life).

isleofwrite.png
image created by @pegasusphysics


mspgif.gif



Image is free to use from unsplash
Poetry is property of @Sunravelme

Sort:  

Hey there! I read this by a mere casuality but I must say I absolutely loved this piece, it's so raw and relatable... Wonderful! Keep it up, poet!

Intriguing and thought provoking!

Thank you!

Your Welcome:) Hope to see you again soon.

this is so so good. you need to curate yourself.

Thank you lovely!

A pause, before you move on.
An exhalation then death;
I am black hole between existence
And when worlds burn,
I am nothing; tabula rasa.

Lovely poetry. I could not help but give a rejoinder. Peace.

I love it! What a great idea it would be to have two poets write companion pieces to one another.... That would be a great contest idea!

Thank you! And thank you for the help in the workshop- polished it into a real gem :)

This one leaves you thinking.. Great!

Thank you lovely!

I love these lines:

I am small
and irreparably cracked.

Your use of punctuation adds to meaning in a lovely way. My heart breaks over this piece but comes back together.

Thank you! There is a little bit of heartbreak here, for sure.

Beautiful words @sunravelme! We want to help curate and bring together the poetry community on Steemit and are resteeming this post! Cheers and keep up the great writing. We will be frequently resteeming quality art in the Rocky Mountain region so stop by for other exceptional works!

what is the theme of the poem ?

I usually don't talk about my personal interpretation of a piece, because I prefer people to get their own. But essentially the idea is that a person can't be everything to another person because they have their own flaws and issues.

That's actually exceptional.. I like the idea behind it, it's intriguing...can you check out one of content with the title THE MARTIAN and try to figure out the idea behind it... Thanks for the reply

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60708.09
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58