WHERE ARE MY UNCLE AND AUNTIES GONE?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago

Logo.jpg

I'm in my home, the village.
I climb upstairs.
I enter the first room - it's empty
I'm wondering where Uncle James is gone.
Then it dawns on me - Uncle James passed on many, many years ago.

Source

I go into the next room
It is vacant
I'm wondering, where is my Auntie Adelemomi?
Where is my Auntie gone?
A fine voice answers me - 'son, your Auntie Adelemomi has gone home.'

Source

There are more rooms upstairs.
So I proceed.
I knock.
No response.
Another knock, louder.
No response.
I push the door, ever so slightly.
It gives way easily, like there's someone pulling it from within.
I step inside.
It's empty, hollow like the empty shell of harvested snail.
Walls standing - lone four walls encapsulating a lone man.

Silence!

'Wa mosha o', I said, 'Good afternoon.'

'Wa mosha o'. The walls echo back to me, in equal earnestness.

I ask, aloud, 'Aati Ojuola mme re?' 'Where is my Auntie Ojuola?'

'Aati Ojuola mme re?' asks the voice in return,
equal in fervour, candour and nostalgia.

In transformed deference, I lower my head
Only the dead speak this way.
The awakening is sudden
Uncle James, Aunties Adelemomi and Ojuola no longer belong here
Now they can only be seen and touched in the heart.

Tears come flowing down
freely falling in a deluge of empty longing for a people
once ever so present
ever so loved and engaging
now only speaking in echoes
in whispers and loud voices according as you can speak.

Aah! Upstairs is empty
empty and hollow-paced
with me alone
wandering around four walls
wondering where my Uncle and Aunties have gone.

Source0

Sort:  

@sungbojus, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!
Enjoy some !popcorn courtesy of @nextgencrypto!

Loneliness can also often give us inspiration

You're right. That's a unique perspective. Thanks.

Hello @sungbojus, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87