A pray from a dependent SOUL (ORIGINAL poem by @stepka)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

I'm fumbling in the dark around
my fingers are looking for a door
in this humid, cold place.

Every doorknob is crumbling under my touch,
this room has been locked since too long.

I hear from somewhere in the darkness
the voice of a lovely father
he seems to talk about his birthplace;
only a few words to figure out that it's nothing but the hell.

I can't figure out
if voices I'm hearing
come from inside of me
or are the echo of blind spirits
in this cursed jail.

But you,
moving into this noisy prison
keep your light away from me.
I shall turn monstrous to get more and more of it.
Let me rest in my habits
I made friendship with those noisy voices;
My fingers can move throughout the darkness.
This is my place now.

Or, if you wish to,
eat me, swallow me,
build me a little, dark jail inside of you
in which I cannot hear anything but your voice.

Let me keep the control,
Let me be a princess, prisoner of myself
not a monster, prisoner of you.
Leave me here
or eat me without showing your warm heart.

But, please,
keep your light away from me.

Stepka

I wrote this poem in italian language when I was fifteen, it's the first time someone can read it, 13 years later; I don't know if the english language can bring the same essence, but I tried!

Sort:  

It's beautiful, and whether or not it has the exact same essence as the first version is not so important as the fact that this English version is so full of its own integrity.

Thank you very much for your feedback richardjuckes, I don't handle the english language in a perfect way yet, so I'm happy the message have his strenght anyway

I want to study how to write english poetry. I dont know how to do because my mother language is not english like you. Could you recommend books or videos for me ? I have kindle so if that books are in amazon, i can read that easily.

:) my mother tongue is not English as well, I'm Italian! I just tried to extract the essence of what I wanted to communicate and then put it in a form as easy as possible! You can try and users can bring you some feedback! Are you korean? I'm about to move to Seoul in order to try to stay there :)! 행운을 빌어요 !

La ringrazio! I'll do my best :) thanks for your kindness !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57