OUR IDENTITY BY JEROME OKEME

in #poetry6 years ago


GOOD MORNING BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE!!

It's a very beautiful morning down here in Nigeria.It has been very rainy for two days in a row but today the sun has decided to bask us in its beauty and I think it's a very pleasant day to share.


I came across this poem not long ago on Facebook and I have to say it's totally amazing.Its titled "OUR IDENTITY" and written by JEROME OKEME.I must say he has great poetic might.I am making contacts with him,to bring him on to steemit so he can share his beautiful poems with the world and earn at the same time.I have read this poem a couple of times and I just can't stop.The poem speaks of our identity as Africans and the beauty of the black skin.I just could not help myself but to share this wonderful poem with you all on this beautiful Friday morning......I hope you enjoy it.

credit

OUR IDENTITY 

By JEROME OKEME


We do not plant hatred on our neighbor's land

Neither do we sit and watch things go out of hand 

We hate to love what is bad 

and that's the spirit of Africa


The sound of war doesn't entice our feet

And we take no pleasure in another's defeat

We sound the vuvuzela to chant our victory 

And tell our history in the rhythm of our oratory


We wear the brightness of the sun on the darkness of our skins 

And cheer up even a gloomy sky with the colors of our smiles.


DISCLAIMER-I do not take ownership of the poem above.The name of the poet and the title of the poem is boldly written above.



If you found this post worthy...


THANKS A LOT STOPPING BY........

STAY HAPPY 

@stephenpaul

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63271.81
ETH 2568.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80