COMEDY OPENMIC ROUND 18: A COLLECTION OF WORDS

in #poetry6 years ago

photo-1526403437231-495325eda875.jpeg
Photo by Ben Confrst on Unsplash.


A COLLECTION OF WORDS


A meeting
Of highly, academically, distinguished
Gowns, capes and caps
Ushered in with an unprofessionally
Alluring music.

The atmosphere's fragrance
Of order and verbal poise,
Conjugates with long, verbose
And boring, well edited speeches.

Visitors, accomplices
From far and near, ranging
From different classes and orders
Of supposedly intellectually
Stimulating Homo Sapiens
Torture the very air with sagacity,
Neo-colonisation, suppositories
As well as anachronisms and cronisms;

Big words that cook boredom
Into sleep in my system
While yawns and sagging eyes
Tell me it's almost done.

The modus operandi
For this show
Is like that of a ceremonial initiation.
To believe that it is
A sacred gathering of God's armies
With ranking and hierarchies, different.
To think that it's a festival
Of many words from different tongues,
With many ears absorbing
The complexly constructed words
Just stretches my imagination
And I yawn again
Stretching my lips.

Some enchant to sleep
With the words
They do not understand
And they serenade me
With the unusual length of such words.

I am forced to nod in disagreement
And sway from left to right
Filled with the anointing
Of their verbosity.
I rest my head
On the shoulder of an unexcited face
And I dream of less intellectually
Stimulating words and tongues.



Written by Ruth and edited by Warped.


ABOUT THE WRITER


Ruth is a beautiful bohemian soul who believes strongly in God and despite her artistic bent, draws her inspiration from her contemplation of the world beyond the physical.

She is not yet interested in steemit but I intend to make her interested. She would bring a lot of soul and truth to the platform.

She is the second contributior in my empowerment program. I hope you find her verse interesting.


©steemingnaija.

Sort:  

Your post has been upvoted by the @steemiansarena trail. Our goal is to support minnows and help them grow. You can join our discord server here Whastapp here.. You can also support us by either contributing steem or delegating SP to us

Hey, Tell Ruth she has written an intelligent series of words that fit so well within the context/setting they are being used. Is this translated or is it her English? Excuse my ignorance if she is from an English speaking country.

yes she is from Nigeria. She speaks the english language. I will definitely tell her. thank you very much for visiting @acolucky

Welcome to Comedy Open Mic.

Great Start :)

Hi, can you let Ruth know that she needs to nominate two people to be entered in the contest?

Or I suppose you could nominate for her. If she trusts you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11