Vivisepulture - Revenge of the Words Poetry Contest

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Greetings, fellow steemers! I hope you're having a fantastic week, hopefully profiting from the Crypto Bonanza we've been witness to during the past couple of days. If that is so, and your mood is as good as it's ever been, then you've come to the right place... to have your good vibe shattered.

This is my entry for @chrisroberts's Revenge of the Words Poetry Contest, focusing on every feeling surrounding and encompassed by anger. In my case, I decided to channel real everyday feelings into my writing, which is why I ended up referencing my country once again. I'm like those people who only have one thing they can talk about at social gatherings. "I hate communism" is my equivalent of "Uhh, so, what do you do for a living?".

Without further ado, I give you:


Source: Pinterest

Vivisepulture

These faded streets I do traverse
With hatred seeping through my eyes
For what I see is what this curse
Has done to us, we are like flies
That having been sold for a price
By ideology misled
Into the bright hot white light fly
Buried in people, I drown in red

Evolution goes in reverse
We sail full speed towards demise
Led by reds, communists perverse
And if you dare a plan devise
To stop this ship that will capsize
Expect a little ball of lead
To end up right between your eyes
Buried in people, I drown in red

And if you ask me to be terse
I'll endeavor to be concise
My list of hated men diverse
Make my good nature agonize
We will not ever civilize
This land where the violent shred
Our hopes and dreams, they brutalize
Buried in people, I drown in red

My anger will not compromise
My heart poisoned, I want them dead
But our people may never rise
Buried in people, I drown in red

Afterword

Another post, another poem. I haven't been able to sit down enough time to be able to weave a story I'm satisfied with, so I've stuck to expressing feelings, impressions and experiences through the more organic verse.

Does it actually take less time, though? It would, sure, if I didn't deliberately choose unusual styles. Can you recognize this one?

Is it blank verse? No!
Is it a ballad? No!
Some kind of sonnet? No, no, no!

This is, ladies and gentlemen, a ballade. It was a very popular style in 14th century France and surrounding areas. Today, it remains as an anachronism. One I'm happy to explore in my journey as a newbie poetry aficionado.

Thanks for reading and, as always, steem on!

Sort:  

I cannot even imagine what you've had to go through to be able to come up with a poem like this.

This is why I wanted to have this contest for two weeks. It may seem like good fun, but sometimes our best creative work comes from giving ourselves a real outlet for our anger, as you have done.

You made me cry. This is scathingly beautiful, and it will be hard to top as an entry (although I may underestimate the anger of others).

Thanks yet again for your enthusiastic participation. If you ever want to hold a contest, you know @carrieallen and I will help you promote!

I greatly appreciate it! You guys have been very inspiring and supportive. I actually have been reading up on poetry styles and I'm thinking on running a contest with one of those I haven't seen much of.(For example, have you ever read a Tanka? I didn't even know they existed).

I'm touched that my writing moved your heart. At first, I wanted to write something really aggressive, but sadness got mixed with the anger and it came out as a sort of resigned lament. Perhaps that fit the style better, as well. Looking forward to the rest of the contest! I've seen some good ones, and some go really deep as well - It's been a success in that regard!

Yes, I am familiar with the Tanka, only because I was on another literature social networking site for a short time before I found Steemit, called Prose. That would be a great idea, should work well for a contest.

It seems plenty angry and aggressive. I didn't see it as a lament really. It just that, while you live in the middle of all that, it's one of our deepest fears here. Belly of the beast. I don't want to get political at all, I just feel for your situation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68228.03
ETH 2645.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69