[Music without sound] Walls

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I’ve build a wall,
Neither small, nor tall.
I’ve build it brick by brick,
And stone by stone,
And inside of it, I am alone.
I never knew what I was doing,
I thought I was smart, and in my mind,
I was keeping things outside,
Forgetting that once I lock the door,
I’m trapped inside, with no way out.
Locked inside my castle,
Nothing out, nothing in.
Now I can only dream, how it would be,
To be out there... free.
I’ve kicked and cried for many years,
I’ve tried to break them down,
But I’ve encountered only pain,
And when I’ve thought that’s all in vain,
In my wall, that I have build,
Brick by brick and stone by stone,
And where I thought I was alone,
A crack appeared,
And I can say with all my heart,
I’m not alone, not anymore.

Image source

Story behind the lyrics:

I was walking yesterday. Just a walk to vent my mind. And I was thinking about how easy we build up walls around us. At least I used to do it. And It's very hard to break them down once we build them up. We tend to get comfy behind them, and even if we realise that our walls become our prison, it's hard to break from it. It's not impossible but hard.

Thanks for reading. If you liked it, please consider following me @sstefan

Sort:  

I like. Follow!

Thank you. I'm glad you liked it

Its true, it is very hard! great poem

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17