Dreams

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)


Since we wake up we are told to dream
To dream big or to dream small
And we’re told to follow our dreams
To follow them to the ends of the Earth
Or to follow them to the stars
We’re told to chase them our entire lives
To hold onto them in our darkest times
They are the stars in our universe
The thing giving us our light

This sun that shines so radiantly
It keeps away the demons within
Lays waste to the depression and the despair
Eradicates the suicide so that it no longer taunts my reality
I think about it when I can no longer keep moving on
When my feet turn into cinderblocks and beg me to jump
As my hands turn into knives and I yearn to cut
I picture the rolling hills
I picture the endless seas
I dream of the places that give me strength
Places I have never seen

How can this be that the places I’ve never seen
Or the places I’ve never been
Mean the most to me?
They are my resolve and resolution through this road that is life
They patch my potholes and re-pave my new path
These unreachable achievements that seem so real
Are my Northern Star guiding me to my heaven
With something so powerful, how doe they become forgotten?
As we grow up we’re told to forget everything we know
To forget our dreams, our passions
They’re unreasonable or they can never be achieved
Words and themes broadcasted daily all over our social feeds

Your dreams should mean everything to you
No one can ever take away your dreams from you
Only you let them
You are the deciding factor in your life
You tell them when you are done, and you never stop being done
Not until you achieve your dreams
But then, I hope you have new dreams
Create new challenges
Dream bigger and think outside the box
Then make the new box and think outside that
But never, ever let your star die

I wrote this post because I’ve been going through a really tough time lately. I got into a really bad place near the end of last year, and it’s the lowest I’ve ever been. With the help and support of a lot of amazing people, I got through it.

I want to let everyone know that people want to listen to you. If you’re going through a tough time the worst thing you can do is hold it in and not let your voice be heard. If I haven’t said it enough or the message wasn’t fully clear: hold your dreams close. Achieve them. I want you to achieve them and others do to.

A few important resources for those that need them:
International Association for Suicide Prevention
WhatsApp FAQ - Global Suicide Hotline Resources This link was one of the top links when I Googled “suicide resources global.” I was just a little shocked and taken aback.

Suicides important. Talk about it ❤️.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66