Spaceman's Woe

in #poetry6 years ago

Space is a wilderness and I am a civilized man

I’ve sailed through the angelic sea,

I have heard the star’s sirenesque lullaby,

I’ve sat first row and watched the heavenly hosts perform a theatrical show,

Lightning crackled,

Asteroids are thrown,

Supernovas erupt into an orange bloom,

Things that no earth-man will ever see

I’ve hoped that my cosmic travels,

Fraught with perils,

Would inspire other dare devils,

To test their metal,

And not settle for a system that wouldn't listen,

To dreamers like me,

Because I did just push the outer limits,

I knocked them down into aesthetic dust,

To show all of the cosmologists,

How righteous,

My astronautical adventures were,

But now...

...

I ...

...

I am afraid the one kindly sight of nuclear lights,

Remind me of air holes punctured into a cardboard box,

Trembling with fear I have begun to despair,

That I am trapped,

Inside my metal box I rage,

Clawing against the walls as if in a cage,

I hunger in pain for which no food or water can sate,

Marooned in my vessel,

(An island in a vacuum ocean)

I have realized!

That space is an infinite cage and I am a wild animal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58