A Poem on infant loss

in #poetry6 years ago

Hi Everyone,

This is the poem I wrote for my baby born sleeping this summer, I hope people find it helpful, especially if you too have faced the pain of infant loss. It's dedicated to my beautiful Bea.
Love Dad

Beautiful Bea

What can you say of a life that never begun?
How do you talk about a race that was never run?

Beautiful Bea our baby girl, you were born sleeping,
In that moment our joy turned to grieving.

But did your little life count for nought?
I don't think so, perish the thought.

Of what you won't do the list is long,
You won't walk and talk or sing a song.

You won't fall in love or have a child of your own.
You won't ever cry or even have a good moan.

But have a life that matters you most certainly will,
Even though you were born still.

You live on in the hearts of those who love you
Bringing joy to our hearts and a tear or two.

You help us to see how much we are blessed
Rather than focus on all we wished we possessed.

And while the pain of grief is real and it's raw,
The power of death has one serious flaw.

It seems so final but really, it's not
Even a hundred years compared to infinity isn't a lot.

I trust in God, who is King of forever,
And in heaven I know Beautiful Bea we will be together.

Sort:  

I'm so sorry for your loss. I can't imagine your sorrow.

You've written a nice poem there.

Thank you, I found writing down some of my feelings in the form of a poem very helpful.

I love this poem, such a tear jerker.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61470.93
ETH 3436.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52