For R

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Feeling like a 24 hour diner at 3 am

Rent was due last year and I'm still crawling out from under your mattress

I watched an interesting Ted Talk the other day
Which is a funny statement in itself

Talking about creative genius
How ideas roll over us like alcohol withdrawals

Chills cause goosebumps
Rings cause green marks

I stumbled home kicking gravel
Laughing at my own fragility
Rambling about this idea of a creative genius

As if creative could be compartmentalized with the nauseating label of intelligence

Genius spelled backwards is restriction and restriction rhymes with institution and do these words mean anything without your college education and your pickled sense of allyship?

There's spilled wine on a white towel seeping in a black garbage bag as I unlock my front door

Your name seeps through the bag as I carry it to a small plastic trashcan sitting on the curb

We check emails and the time but never use a stethoscope on our own ribcage



original photo by the author

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57668.08
ETH 2381.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42