Holiday Mask, an original poem by Sophia Manimen

in #poetry8 years ago

Holidays are here: festivities and lights!
darkness creeps in
ebony haunts of the graves

I find my mask

Relatives come to call, bringing gifts and cheer!
some do not show
longing begins

I reach for my mask

Good food in abundance; we share a great meal!
some do not eat
empty seats

I cling to my mask

Gifts abound, passed around!
some do not receive
stilled hearts

I cry into my mask

My mask shows smiles to everyone!
levity and joy
painted image

I scream into my mask

My mask to show how “strong” I am
and how well I'm “getting on”
diplomacy in action

I crawl into my mask

My mask to say “It's all ok”
so they will leave me alone
my terms

I die inside my mask

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59184.02
ETH 2530.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46