YOU LIED TO ME

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Friend you lied to me
You lied slowly and painstakingly
With patience so strong no ones your rival
Lied until you became one with my reality
Lied until the lines between me and you blurred
Lied like no one could
You lied to me

You came close because the innocence attracted you
Because there was no one else who wanted you
You came with the most believable back story
You came to me and acted like me
Acted like the world was new to you too
Acted like you had been wronged
Acted so much like me
So much so that I let you lie to me

image source:gettyimages.com
unnamed.jpg

You lied for reasons I'll never understand
You lied to get closer to me
To know what makes me tick
What makes me laugh, why my flame shines so bright
And every night when you went back to bed
You added an extra paragraph to your life's essay
An extra spice to your boiling broth
Friend, you lied to me

You laughed and walked with me
Watching every interaction closely
Saying you had no friends, looking lost and alone

So i let you in, told you my secrets, fears and hopes
Told you my problems, wars and scars
And you did the same, you told it with a straight face
With a quiet voice and the right tones
You told me what I needed to hear
You lied to me

image source:www.alamy.com
images (9).jpg

You told me of your past friendships
Condemning and belittling them before me
Praising my beautiful and trustworthy attitude
And like the fool i was I fell for it
I fell for what i thought was friendship
I fell for what i thought was right
I fell in so deep that I opened the door more

Oblivious to the things you were taking from me
The secrets, the words and success bullet points
The trust, laughter and love
Oblivious that you robbed me of everything
Oblivious that you lied to me

When you thought you had taken it all
You stopped calling, laughing or texting
And blamed me for the divide
You started being vague and acting interesting
Shutting me out when you want to

Stealing my ideas to my face
And giving the 'devil may care' attitude
You looked in my face and said it with your eyes
'I lied to you'

image source: www.dreamstime.com
images (10).jpg

Only then did i realise
I knew nothing about your real friends
But they knew everything about me
I knew nothing about you
Except your shitty sad stories

I realised i had been played the fool again
And i laugh at my stupidity
Because nobody falls for the same old trick twice
But i did
I let you lie to me

But let me surprise you, dear friend
As I grow I change
And everything i gave you was an unintentional lie
Everything you gave me helped me grow
So maybe you lied to me
Maybe you robbed me of everything

image source: quotepics.com
images (8).jpg

But I'm glad you robbed me of my baggage
Because now I'm starting again
And i am starting without you

💔

Sort:  

It's all about gaining trust and there after making one trust their lies
Wonderful poem
Keep up the good work

Awesome post hun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11