The Swan

in #poetry6 years ago

Image Source | Photo Owner | Image License CC0


Swan

BY Sir Pics A. Lot

This creature who's now a mother
swims gracefully along the river
of pure white and silky feather
a thing of beauty and unmatched glimmer.

She knacks, she quacks as she glides
amidst, against the quiet tides.
Along with her children she guides
with care and safety she provides.

One, two, three up till twelve they go,
ducklings chirping all in a row.
Then one loud bang echo
And there she lies with red blood glow.

Oh poor frightened ducklings now in shock
What will they do to their mother now

Not understanding the she won't come back
Who will help this poor ducklings now?

Poem Source: Original Work


Commentary

This is something fresh and new to me, aside from the poems I truly admire, I've decided to punch in and contribute to the poetry community and one of my own.

This time t'is with an inspiration stemming from my childhood days. We own a large patch of land and near it is a river, one day I found a magnificent swan, dead along the riverbank. I dreamt of it yesterday and decided to portray it as an inspiration of a tragic setting.

Imagine, some poor children not understanding what to do now that their pillar and source of life their mother is gone. How tragic it must be, the shooter I didn't mention as it symbolizes life, they take your dreams your loved ones away without any meaning or reason. The tragedies of life symbolized by mere creatures. I'll let you imagine the rest the symbols say. My poem is tragic sad but is beautiful for me and I hope to create more of this in the future.


Disclaimer
I own no rights to the picture and have stated my sources. I do however, own all rights to the poem.


Please support the arts, especially poetry as I fear it may be a dying breed in our culture.
-Sir. Picsalot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25