Poem

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

image
Image

Who remembers when hip hop was new to Kenya? Late 90s. I was in high school then - kala mashaka, gidi gidi maji maji, k-south and other numerous acts were ruling the Kenyan airwaves with their lyrical prowess. Gidi gidi would later do a song unbwogable that would catapult them to national stars and earn them the elusive celebrity status! These two are millionaires today from their work on radio.

Other acts faded to oblivion after the celebrity bug got into their heads - with all the fame, money, women and drugs! They just disappeared, never to be heard again.

Rugged MC

Hehe believe it or not that was my stage name! I was good at composing but very shy at spitting rhymes. Florida 2000 was the club to be every Sunday (moms is not on steemit because i used to lie we are going swimming) for jam sessions. We would meet here, most high school kids from the estate would show up with timberlands and baggy jeans to get their groove on. Then rap competitions would commence, me and my team would take up the mic and do our thing - i would do choruses only, too shy to do a whole verse.

Comfort in writing

Composing for me was like medicine! I could sit for hours thinking of a message to pass, the story line, the rhymes and most important a catchy chorous. Back then a song had to have these qualities, else you wouldn't get a recording and if you did manage to get one, your song would not be played on radio! Quality music was paramount.
Anyway life happened and the group had to part ways.
I got into basketball my other love and as they say the rest is history.

Today i was going through my old writting books and i found several pages of poems i had composed. Turns out i was quite the poet too!

Here's one

image

Light

Light is born of a new day
Light is the beginning of life
Light, lights our life and a feeling of guidance is experienced
Light sparkes our life, and a clear conscience is felt
Light is life

Light is bright and always right
Light engulfs the darkness in our lives
Light is beautiful to behold
Light radiates and make our lives shine
Light is life

Light is love
Light we live, is the order of the day
Light is your heart, your body depends on it
Light is perfect, warm and encouraging
Light is life

~ Tom ~

Thanks @steemit for the opportunity to continue writting.

Thanks for reading, leave a comment

Sort:  

I never thought you to be this creative

I try sometimes. Thanks for reading

Man I remember when I was a teen,

I had a notebook like that all written with raps I would compose xD

I'm so changed now :P

We all wanted to be famous, whats up with that ? lol. Perhaps you should drop a single! Just for fun...

We don't have lights :(
Here's an upvote

Pole bro.. Thanks for the upvote
Cheer up

Jam session- Memories.

Haha. Nice poem.

Never used to miss those.
Thanks @jean

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60782.57
ETH 2381.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64