Poetry Wednesday

in #poetry6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-08-01 at 5.24.25 PM.png
Poem: Amateur Uncle
Book: Journey Through Perception
Chapter: Activation Phase II: Internalized Reflections

Background: This poem was written after much reflection of the difficulty I found in establishing a relationship with my nieces and nephews. The title uncle felt so queer to me. Most of that friction came from a lack of familiarity with what an uncle is supposed to do. In the poem you see me resenting the inattention I received from my elders, despite sowing the same seeds of inattention in my relationships. After writing this piece I sent it to my siblings with children old enough to understand my note of apology.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58237.47
ETH 2479.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38