I’m broken and I’ve broken things

in #poetry6 years ago

There’s nothing quite like the feeling of being powerless
Unable to overcome obstacles, feeling weak, comparing yourself to a standard that no one set.

It’s worse knowing that you live in a state of limbo, knowing that regardless of what you do, you change nothing. I see the things I’ve done and only wonder “what the hell was I thinking” I see the time I’ve wasted and only imagine all the lies I was saying, but my realization only continued to become more grim when it hit me that I’ve accomplished so much and done nothing.

Not that I want to be the one holding the cards, or so to speak, but the only feeling worse than being powerless is being useless. To know that your value is subjective. To think that you’re only needed when your needed, and you were only “needed” because it was convenient

I’m already a deadbeat dad to an un-thought-of child
I failed a test that I created myself
I wasted time like I’d live forever
The people around me can do so much better
Like I said I hold no cards
Make no difference
Made no waves
Just another number
Just another face

Sort:  

This is an interesting poem. Definitely a good read. I've upvoted it. Would you mind taking a look at my poetry?

Congratulations @sinfiniti! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sinfiniti! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65435.53
ETH 3559.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48