Treads

in #poetry6 years ago

image

Before I took a shoe to the face
there was fire in a bowl, ritual oath
no man will hurt me again

If only women could voice our fiercest wishes
and have them come true

Instead I wore the treads of a rubber sole
across my lips and cheeks,
tears tracking in that bumpy trail

Let us not speak of the next morning
when I woke up safe but shook anyway

There are wishes, memory and reality.
The hills and valleys painted on my face
exist as a map for all three

so I stopped silencing my bruises,
searching for the faces which were not turned away

I made no grand discovery
other than in the mirror
when my reflection made her wish with her eyes.

Sort:  

Wow well done. I’m here for you!

A powerful ode to survivors. Thank you for sharing.

Wow , this is good , nice post

welcome to steemit,
Get to know how to earn more on your posts and get more followers.
Make new friends and interact.
We can share our thoughts.
In the steemit school, we have ultimate contest challenges where you get to win and make investments.

join the steemit school on discord https://discord.gg/pqWrzBn

what an amazing words, really love this

This poetry is heart touching. @shawnamawna.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43