LESSON LEARNED #14 - SHARING AND CARING NETWORK

in #poetry7 years ago

1962745_10153826210375158_858347553_n.jpg

TIME...TIME...TIME - Do you every wonder where it goes?

I've learned over the years that as we age - time seems to fly by! But is that really true OR do we waste precious time.

For about 2 weeks now I've said over and over again - I wish I had more time to do things I want to do - to practice my golf game, to have more friends over for dinner, to sit down with a neighbour and just visit, to work on crocheting my baby blanket - and of course, to do more posting and commenting on Steemit.

One week ago, at our Church service, a dear friend who was a guest speaker, shared a poem she had tucked away from a book she came across that was first published in the early 70s called "Prayers of Life" written by Michel Quoist. The theme of her message that morning was "UNPLUG" and how well it fit in. So I asked her if she would mind if I shared it with my Steemit followers - so here it is. I hope you enjoy and that it makes you think - like it did me!!!

LORD, I have time

I went out, Lord.
Men were coming out.
They were coming and going,
Walking and running.
Everything was rushing, cars, lorries, the street, the whole town
Men were rushing not to waste time.
They were rushing after time,
To catch up with time,
To gain time.

Goodbye, sir, excuse me, I haven’t time.
I’ll come back, I can’t wait, I haven’t time.
I must end this letter – I haven’t time.
I’d love to help you, but I haven’t time.
I can’t accept, having no time.
I can’t think, I can’t read, I’m swamped, I haven’t time.
I’d like to pray, but I haven’t time.

You understand, Lord, they simply haven’t the time.
The child is playing, he hasn’t time right now…Later on…
The schoolboy has his homework to do, he hasn’t time….

  Later on…

The student has his courses, and so much work, he hasn’t time…

  Later on….

The young man is at his sports, he hasn’t time…Later on…
The young married man has his new house, he has to fix it up, he hasn’t time….

 Later on….

The grandparents have their grandchildren, they haven’t time…

 Later on…

They are ill, they have their treatments, they haven’t time…

 Later on….

They are dying, they have no…..
Too late!....They have no more time!

And all men run after time, Lord.
They pass through life running – hurried, jostled, overburdened, frantic, and they never get there. They haven’t time.
In spite of all their efforts they’re still short of time, of a great deal of time.

Lord, you must have made a mistake in your calculations.
There is a big mistake somewhere.
The hours are too short,
The days are too short,
Our lives are too short.

You who are beyond time, Lord, you smile to see us fighting it.
And you know what you are doing.
You make no mistakes in your distribution of time to men.
You give each one time to do what you want him to do.

But we must not lose time
Waste time,
Kill time,
For time is a gift that you give us,
But a perishable gift,
A gift that does not keep.

Lord, I have time
I have plenty of time,
All the time that you give me,
The years of my life,
The days of my years.
The hours of my days,
They are all mine.
Mine to fill, quietly, calmly,
But to fill completely, up to the brim,
To offer them to you, that of their insipid water
You may make a rich wine such as you made once in Cana of Gailiee.

I am not asking you tonight, Lord, for time to do this and then that,
But your grace to do conscientiously, in the time that you give me, WHAT YOU WANT ME TO DO.

                                  ......................................................................................

UNPLUG

But FIRST - upvote, comment and resteem - haha!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06